when you tell me you miss me

i remember the girl i used to be

ten years ago, who would have swooned in her

living room hearing those words from you,

 

for a moment, i want to:

i want to lose myself in some hopeless crush,

to spend nights convincing myself in and out of you

to have my heart beat like a wild untamed thing

when i am with you

 

instead, your words hardly make me feel anything:

i never loved you, i never did.

 

your words crash on me like raindrops, leave

heart-shaped territories on my skin. you are wrong;

you don’t miss me, you miss the girl who was blind

for you, who saw far more in you than you ever did.

 

you miss the girl who would have danced to old 90s records

when you tell her in you offhanded way, that you missed her.

 

 

One thought on “when you tell me you miss me

Leave a Reply

